DIY: Gold Detail Coffee Mugs

IMG_20141018_132141

DIY Gold Detail Coffee Mugs

 Anyone who knows me well knows that I love GOLD. Gold everything, everywhere. Gold statement necklaces, gold purses, wallets, SHOES. I have 4 different pairs of gold shoes. And my house is full of gold accents and details… gilded pigs, photo frames, knick-knacks, silverware… and now these handmade gold detail coffee mugs I made with a Sharpie and an oven.

I’d heard that you could doodle on a certain ceramics with a Sharpie and bake them to permanently set the design so I had to give it a shot. Besides, my cup full of gold Sharpies that sits on my desk was itching for a task.

I used Ikea 365+ coffee mugs because I liked the size and shape and they said they were microwave-safe and I figured they ought to hold up in an oven too. I was right. Now, I haven’t tested this theory but I assume any mug that’s microwave-safe will be oven-safe too.

They were also under $2 a pop so I was OK with the fact that I might ruin them in the process. The creative confidence instilled by the knowledge that you can throw out your test subject is unbelievable.

You can find the blank canvasses I used here: Ikea 365+Mug

Now, obviously, I used gold Sharpies, but you can used whatever metallic or colored permanent marker you like. Avoid using older markers as you’ll get frustrated at the uneven color and scraggly edges the beat-up tip makes and end up throwing the mug against the wall. At least that’s what I would do. Choice is yours. Neat and tidy, thank you.

 So it’s time for you to take the wheel: whack your oven on to 350F / 175 c and start doodling.

I did most of mine free-hand, but masking tape is great for making straight lines, and if you’ve got contact paper you can create shapes and cut them out as stencils.

Coffee Mug Plain Handle Mug Process Big Dot Mug Process 2 Little Dot Mug Process      Stripe Mug Process 1 Stripe Mug Process 2

Once you’ve created your masterpiece(s), pop them on a baking sheet, or better in a roasting/baking dish in the middle of your pre-heated oven and let bake for 30 minutes. During this time you can make more marvelous creations or re-arrange your cupboards to make front row space for your joyful new mugs, or just stare through your oven door at this new gilded handiwork with wonder and glee.

Coffee Mugs Baking

When ready, be sure to let cool for at least 15 minutes before handling. It has to be said.

20141018_130943

These are great for a handmade Christmas gifts if you can bear to give them away, or as a kid’s weekend craft or birthday party idea… if you feel confident putting permanent markers in the hands of children.

Or you can keep them all to yourself.

Cheers!

This entry was posted in Design & Decor, DIY and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DIY: Gold Detail Coffee Mugs

  1. I love this idea so much! I just read an article on doing a marbeling technique on mugs with polish too, I bet doing the two together would have a cool affect!

    Like

  2. Mom says:

    These mugs are so beautiful! Will you make me some?

    Like

Leave a Reply

