Get Juicy: Oh Kale Yea

Oh Kale Yea Juice 3Why am I so obsessed with kale?

Because it’s my favorite food in the whole wide world and it’s the most amazing green leafy vegetable for you. It’s also one of the most flexible foods I’ve ever come across. I mean, you can do ANYTHING with it. And it’s unbelievably cheap! It’s like 20 cents a portion for the most healthy item in the grocery store. Strange.

It can be raw, roasted, baked, boiled, steamed, pureéd, juiced, etc. Need I go on? And it’s flavor somehow goes with anything. Even pineapple. Yup. Here it is juiced up with pineapple. Proof.

Makes about 16 0z.

INGREDIENTS: 

4 Kale Leaves

2 Celery Stalks 

1/2 Pineapple

Oh kale Yea Ingredients 2

As usual, I juice up the kale first so that I can easily separate and harvest the leftover pulp to use in all sorts of other stuff like smoothies and soup and salads.

{If you’re still new to my juice pulp rants, check out my post 101 Ways to Use Juicer Pulp for more ideas and recipes.}

A good tip for efficiently juicing kale is to pile the leaves on top of each other and then roll them up nice and tight and stick the whole wad in at once. Compacting them like this turns out way more juice then tossing the leaves in all loosey-goosey.

Now juice up your celery and pineapple and save that pulp for smoothies too.

How delicious is that juice?! OH KALE YEA.

Oh Kale Yea Juice 2

Cheers!

This entry was posted in Get Juicy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Get Juicy: Oh Kale Yea

  1. Lol! I love kale too! Yummmm! I can’t wait to try this combo! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your kale shake looks SO fabulous! I’m also a big fan of kale & always looking for new ways to incorporate it into my dishes. I’ve not thought about adding it to smoothies yet, so this definitely serves as inspiration! Have you tried kale chips? I’d love to know what you think of my recipe! 🙂 http://goodfoodmarsh.wordpress.com/2014/11/10/butternut-squash-masala-kale-chips/?preview_id=904

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

